Richmond

John Richmond is an English designer based in Italy. He was born in 1960, (Manchester, England). As a young man, John moved to London to study at Kingston University. His long-standing dream was to become a designer. And to this end, he went rapidly. After graduating in 1982, he immediately created his first collection and collaborated with Joseph Tricot, Fiorucci and Emporio Armani. He is attracted by his extravagant style.

Distinctive features of Richmond
– extravagance
– addressed to reputable clients
– abundance of various prints, applications and accessories prevails
– Denim clothing line, for young and successful customers

 


Brand history

Already in 1984, John Richmond, in collaboration with his girlfriend Maria Cornejo, founded The Richmond-Cornejo brand. They are building a joint business, but John Richmond is the one who is most attracted to independent solutions. And since 1987, he has been working independently, focusing on a style that combines avant-garde and club culture.
The next step was the creation in 1990 of a new collection in a lower price category – Destroy. A year later, he complements it with the Destroy Denim collection. In 1992, his first boutique, opened in London, began to receive visitors. In 1995 he created a line of ready-made clothes and accessories.
The ideology of the Richmond brand
Also in 1995, Richmond entered the foreign market. Such a rapid development of business helps to realize his own diligence, passion for culture and beauty, as well as his old friend Saverio Moskillo.
Saverio Mosquillo has provided him with the Falber Confectionery Factory, as well as his distribution network with showrooms around the world, including Rome, Milan, Naples, Paris, London, New York, Düsseldorf and Munich. Soon John Richmond’s brand brought him tremendous success.
From 2000 to 2003, John Richmond collaborated with the Valextra brand, focusing on creating collections of women’s clothing and accessories.
From the very beginning, John Richmond set the goal of producing clothing that defies established rules.
His clothes are for seductive women who like to stand out from the crowd. His style can be described by the words “street chic”.
These are well-cut jackets, in juicy fruit shades. The decor is often complemented by leather inserts, various chains, zippers, i.e. elements that are associated with the punk style. However, in John Richmond’s collections there are features of glam rock and biker motifs. His work is closely linked to the rock music industry. Therefore, among his admirers are such celebrities as Madonna, Mick Jagger, Annie Lennox, David Bowie, George Michael and many others. John Richmond is also interested in working with other designers, such as the Iraqi fashion designer Rim Alasadi.
With all John Richmond’s passion for extravagant style, the designer shows an amazing ability to create things that are suitable for many.

In addition to men’s and women’s clothing, John Richmond’s collections include such categories as lingerie, beachwear, glasses, children’s clothing and shoes.

Richmond

Джон Ричмонд – английский дизайнер, базирующийся в Италии. Он родился в 1960 году, (Манчестер, Англия). В юности Джон переехал в Лондон, чтобы поступить в Кингстонский университет. Его давней мечтой было желание стать дизайнером. И к этой цели он шёл стремительно. Окончив в 1982 году университет, он сразу же создаёт свою первую коллекцию, а также сотрудничает с брендами Joseph Tricot, Fiorucci и Emporio Armani. Его притягивает экстравагантный стиль.

Отличительные черты Richmond

– экстравагантность в одежде

– коллекция адресована для респектабельных клиентов

– преобладает обилие разнообразных принтов, аппликаций и аксессуаров

– линия джинсовой одежды, для молодых и успешных клиентов

История создания бренда

Уже в 1984 году Джон Ричмонд в сотрудничестве со своей подругой Марией Корнехо основывает бренд The Richmond-Cornejo. Они строят совместный бизнес, но Джона Ричмонда более всего привлекают самостоятельные решения. И с 1987 года он начинает работать самостоятельно, фокусируя своё внимание на стиле, в котором объединяется авангард и клубная культура.

Следующим шагом было создание в 1990 году новой коллекции в более низкой ценовой категории – Destroy. Уже через год он дополняет её коллекцией Destroy Denim. В 1992 году начинает принимать посетителей его первый бутик, открытый в Лондоне. В 1995 году он создаёт линию готовой одежды и линию аксессуаров.

Идеология бренда Richmond

В том же 1995 году Ричмонд приходит на зарубежный рынок. Столь стремительное развитие бизнеса помогает осуществить его собственное трудолюбие, страсть к культуре и красоте, а также его давний знакомый Саверио Москилло.

Саверио Москилло предоставил в его распоряжение фабрику Фалбер Конфециони, а также свою распределительную сеть с шоурумами по всему миру, включая Рим, Милан, Неаполь, Париж, Лондон, Нью-Йорк, Дюссельдорф и Мюнхен. Вскоре марка Джона Ричмонда принесла ему потрясающий успех.

С 2000 по 2003 год John Richmond сотрудничает с брендом Valextra, делая основной акцент на создание коллекций женской одежды и аксессуаров.

Джон Ричмонд с самого начала поставил цель производить одежду, бросающую вызов устоявшимся правилам.

Его одежда для соблазнительных женщин, которым нравится выделиться из толпы. Его стиль можно описать словами «уличный шик».

Это хорошо скроенные жакеты, в сочных фруктовых оттенках. Декор часто дополняется кожаными вставками, различными цепочками, молниями, т.е. элементами, которые ассоциируются с панковским стилем. Однако в коллекциях Джона Ричмонда встречаются черты глэм-рока и байкерские мотивы. Его творчество тесно связано с индустрией рок-музыки. Поэтому среди его почитателей такие знаменитости, как Мадонна, Мик Джаггер, Энни Леннокс, Дэвид Боуи, Джордж Майкл и многие другие. Джону Ричмонду интересно работать и в сотрудничестве с другими дизайнерами, например, с иракским модельером Рим Аласади.

При всём стремлении Джона Ричмонда к экстравагантному стилю, дизайнер проявляет удивительное умение создавать такие вещи, которые пригодны для многих.

В коллекциях Джона Ричмонда, кроме мужской и женской одежды, представлены такие категории, как нижнее белье, пляжная одежда, очки, детская одежда, обувь.